Home > Philosophy > The wrong end of the telescope?

The wrong end of the telescope?

“I like nonsense; it wakes up the brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living. It’s a way of looking at life through the wrong end of a telescope. Which is what I do, and that enables you to laugh at life’s realities.” — Dr. Seuss

(above: The Tower of Babel by Dr. Seuss)

Evidently, this worked for Dr. Seuss and others such as Lewis Carol and even other literary or artistic geniuses, i.e., Poe and Van Gogh and Picasso. You get the idea.
Yet, maybe we should ask the question, “who says it is the wrong end of the telescope that they were looking through?”
Who is it that sets the standards of what is considered to be the wrong way to look at things and the right way?
What makes them right and the creative geniuses wrong?
Is it better to live by the strictly stressed set of stapled standards, which are ruled over by others, or should we remember to always look at life the “wrong” way through the telescope of our inner genius?

Trivia: Did you know today is Cat in the Hat Stamp Day? In 1999,the U.S. Postal Service issued the first stamp bearing the likeness of Dr. Seuss’ Cat in the Hat character.The stamp was one of fifteen stamps commemorating the 1950’s.

Categories: Philosophy
  1. June 4, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    It’s funny. I never read any of these as a youngster (well, at a young age). 🙂
    I read most of it this last year, even got the movies to watch. I’ve had a lot of fun reading Seuss. It’s fun, but clever. My faves are the Sneetches, the Zax and the Pale Green Pants. lol

    Have a marvelous day! 🙂

    • June 5, 2010 at 4:33 am

      yes,…I like them all, but more of a fan of Poe and, to tell the truth, Tim Burton’s works. I guess I lean more to the dark side at times…doesn’t mean you are evil, as some in my family would say. I t just means you have an open mind, a good imagination and lots of curiosity.

  2. June 6, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    I agree…I don’t think dark means evil. lol
    It’s the same as when you feel down…blue… melancholy. There’s nothing wrong with feeling it, and experiencing it for what it is.

    • June 7, 2010 at 3:57 am

      true. for one to have ever written about it, it must be experienced. though, i do not particularly wish to feel melancholy or experience blue/dark. actually hoping this week might finally look up in the feeling melancholoy department. we’ll see.

  3. June 7, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    We, none of us, wish to experience it. But that’s life. Sometimes we do.
    I hope this week looks up for you. Sometimes it’s good to go back to basics. Rediscover the little things we enjoy. Perhaps force yourself to get out and about to different places. Start things you know you used to love doing… I know that’s what I’m going to be doing. Sigh. Seems like hard work, but I loved biking once, and reading actual books. 🙂

    • June 7, 2010 at 2:03 pm

      i am riding a stationary bike, does that count? hahahaha… and yes,…reading actual book too,…even have my son doing the reading of an actual book. he acted like i asked him to give up his legs and arms, but read to me beautifully. he read so well, that even my mother was impressed. he is reading Crispin. i am reading Frank Paretti’s Monster….though i don’t really enjoy it much…i might switch. have a great day! 🙂

  4. June 7, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    Ha, yes, it does. If you keep at it. I had one before, stationary bike. I found my legs cramped at the top and it was boring. I enjoy riding for the sights and people you see.
    I used to eat up three, four books a week – but two years ago I started doing crosswords and haven’t read much since.
    Is that Crispin, by Avi? It’s great that you have him reading. It’s so important. I got rid of my tv when my kids were little – I still don’t have one. But I bought them books. Now both of my kids are early 20’s and neither own a tv. I think it’s wonderful. My daughter is very active and she’s getting artistic with painting. My son is mastering electric guitar. But they are both very good with words. I love that!
    Maybe you would enjoy Frank’s banjo playing more. Ha. 🙂
    I was thinking of reading some Kinski, Klaus… I skimmed through a book of his at my friend’s house and it’s rather risky and a little odd, but entertaining!

    Have yourself a wonderful day – it’s nice and sunny here and I hope you have the same!

    • June 9, 2010 at 3:37 pm

      Paretti plays banjo? hahaha,…well,…that would be interesting to hear. I suppose all of us are multi-talented. and Kinski, Klaus? I think my best friend and I came across a book of his at the half price book store a week ago. I will definitely take a closer look. 🙂
      have a beautiful day!

  5. June 10, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    LOL Yes, I googled Paretti and that’s what it said… honest. lol
    And Klaus Kinski, yes.. .interesting to say the least! His daughter writes, too. I haven’t read anything of hers though. If you read some let me know what you think! 🙂

    Have a wonderful day!!! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

