Home > Literature > Poetry Em-otion

Poetry Em-otion

I fell in love yesterday with an old poetry book, nearly one hundred years old. It had been in my grandfather’s library/office. He’s passed now and I have inherited all the amazing old books.
Today, here is a poem from said found book, filled with words I have tried to speak from my own lips to a man I have loved, yet, these were written by a man to a woman he loved nearly a century, or so, ago.
Funny how the art of love never dies…Old poetry in new motion.

I Want You
by Arthur L. Gillom
I want you when the shades of eve are falling
And purpling shadows drift across the land;
When sleepy birds to loving mates are calling –
I want the soothing softness of your hand.

I want you when the stars shine up above me,
And Heaven’s flooded with bright moonlight;
I want you with your arms and lips to love me
Throughout the wonder watches of the night.

I want you when in dreams I still remember
The ling’ring of your kiss – for old time’s sake –
With all your gentle ways, so sweetly tender,
I want you in the morning when I wake.

I want you when the day is at its noontime,
Sun-steeped and quiet, or drenched with sheet of rain;
I want you when the roses bloom in June-time;
I want you when the violets come again.

I want you when my soul is thrilled with passion;
I want you when I’m weary and depressed;
I want you when in lazy, slumberous fashion
My senses need the haven of your breast.

I want you when through field and wood I’m roaming;
I want you when I’m standing on the shore;
I want you when the summer birds are homing –
And when they’ve flown – I want you more and more.

I want you, dear, through every changing season;
I want you with a tear or with a smile;
I want you more than any rhyme or reason –
I want you, want you, want you – all the while.

Categories: Literature Tags:
  1. June 4, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    Hello again. I didn’t make it away from the computer as I said I would. Ha…you snagged me with this blog entry. 🙂

    I love old books. I’m not a massively huge fan of poetry, per se, but I absolutely love books. The older the better. It’s so wonderful to see you getting so much joy from them and loving them. 🙂 Books should be loved…it’s becoming a lost art and the kids these days are missing out on that.

    And yes, on love…. remember your first love? You thought it all so exciting and *no one has ever felt this way* ish. lol Yeah, except the entire planet. lol 🙂 I loved your phrase, old poetry in new motion..explains it perfectly. 🙂

    Ok, now I’m really going to get my coffee. Heh.
    Keep writing! xo

    • June 4, 2010 at 2:32 pm

      hahaha… well, we both better get up and grab it before it is time for lunch! And as for writing and old books…MY FAVORITES! Well,… along with creating art,…which is kind of and oxymoron, now isn’t it. How can you really create art? SInce their is really nothing new under the sun, how can you create it? It has already been done, just not by you. But, does it become something uncreated when a new life puts a different spin on it? I don’t think I will ever know the answer. It is like that stupid cliched question, “which came first, the chicken or the egg?” Oh, well, doesn’t stop me from “creating”. Have a very, very, good day! 🙂 ❤

      "Rhetorical Advocate"

  2. June 4, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    Oh you just had to do it. lol Now that will be going on in my head all day. Ha ha.

    –Let’s suppose — so long as you *create* something, whatever that something is… it is new and original – because it cannot be an exact duplicate of something else. If you paint a picture, there will be at least one paint stroke in a different place than someone else’s. If the words you use are precisely those that are used elsewhere, in the same line up… forming sentences or what not.. your meaning will be different, coming from a different point of view. Right? lol

    Am I stretching it? lol

    Enjoy your coffee!!! 🙂

    • June 5, 2010 at 4:42 am

      Well, You would think so. At least, that is what I thought. But is there enough variation that it would be considered a “creation” or just labeled as an attempted copy?
      makes me think of Plato,…which after today’s running around, is almost tempting to relax and think upon, but my eyes are tired and my heart and mind are wide awake tonight. That is what happens sometimes.

  3. June 6, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    It’s much like music.
    I’ve heard it said that every song has already been done… just that folks put a bit of a different spin on each one.
    Hope you managed to get some sleep! 🙂

    • June 7, 2010 at 4:05 am

      ahhh,….music. tonight i have that love on my brain and nothing more than some nice music and i could even forego the candles if he were here. as for putting a different spin on the same song,…yes,… i notice more and more, the same old lines to different bars of music or twisted together with some new hip-hop beat stuck to it and always wonder when someone will start to be original again. do you ever wonder what it must have been like to hear jazz when it first came out. i know i would have been one of those who had to sneak out to hear it in the underground clubs. 🙂
      as for sleep,… well,… i am hoping tonight will be better i have tentative plans in the balance, so i plan on getting plenty of rest. good night 🙂

  4. June 7, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    It would have been something to be here for the origin of anything. lol I mean, we’ve seen computers, cell phones, space hubble etc… but art, music, writing? Even sciences… finding antibiotics.
    I’d for sure have been sneaking out to see the original jazz and blues. What a world that must have been.
    I hope you got some sleep – after much battling, I got about three hours. Better than nothing, eh? 🙂

    • June 7, 2010 at 2:06 pm

      yes,….it is. and i took my next to youngest for her last day of school today…summer break is here. all the kids are home. but i hope to sneak in some ME time too. 🙂

  5. June 7, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Ah, summer break. Makes me think of bike rides and swimming pools… morning tv noises. lol
    Enjoy!

    Me time is imperative. I don’t think a lot of folks realize how important that is. 🙂

    • June 9, 2010 at 4:00 pm

      ME time does not seem to be as close as I thought….which is somewhat of a damper 😦 , but I will live,…as usual.
      I thought I might hear from someone on that bit of escape time, but looks as if it has grown hazy or something….I will still hope. I guess I might seem relentless to them on the whole wanting and wishing theme…. maybe they would prefer that I die down. I was told about the old saying, growing up, “you can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make him drink”. Meh,…. and today the rain comes down,…and I love it! fits the sad mood, but also give me a chance to take some pictures of the rainy day….capturing water by camera….hahahahaha….can sometimes be as elusive as catching time away with someone.
      I hope you are having a very good day and lots of smiles 😀

  6. June 10, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    Water is very tricky to catch! But I love it – the perfect drop, with back splash!
    I once got a picture of a young boy drinking from a fountain – his dad holding him up. I got one good shot (out of seven) where you can see the water drip off his nose. Ha. 🙂
    As for horses and water… what is meant to be will be. Sometimes, in hind site, we see that not getting our way is sometimes a blessing – although it hurts at the time.
    The rain has been wonderful here. My friend and I sat in a baseball diamond last night, sharing a set of headphones, listening to music. 🙂 We were drenched. Ha! Good times. 🙂
    Hopefully the day comes (soon) that you find laughter in rain, and not sadness. 🙂
    Have a marvelous day!

    • June 10, 2010 at 9:11 pm

      yes,…as it turned out,…i was to neither catch the rain or the said elusive ME time with a particular someone. SO,…i am still waiting on his promise. It stopped raining, just as i got up to go out. took some pictures of the creek running next to the house. and as for the horse….the horse itself was the blessing to begin with. never known any more beautiful. well,… the day ended with a previously viewed movie at the cinema and a trip through the drive thru for a drink ( without the kids ). i did listen to music myself and wrote a poem before making it home last night. my friend texted me that she was home watching a french film and we both talked on how we were craving going overseas. i think i will be 80 before it actually happens….hahaha.
      I hope your day has been splendidly nice! 🙂

  7. June 11, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    Traveling, I would love to do that, too… but like you, it seems to be far off.
    I’m glad to hear that you got some ME time in there. Sometimes we forget to do that, or can’t squeeze it in, but I’m a firm believer in it. 🙂
    Have a most marvelous day, please. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

