Home > Literature > composition

composition

Thank you “Wit” for the quote posted:

“If you came here hoping for a miracle, there can be none.  If you believe that you have paid to receive here a magic formula, a secret you may use at will, you have done no such thing.  Writing, in any sense that matters, cannot be taught.  It can only be learned, and learned by each separate one of us in his own way, by the use of his own powers of imagination and perception, the ability to learn the lessons he has set for himself.  That is, if your intention is to try yourself out, to find whether or not you have the makings of an artist. … In the present fevered rush to publish just anything and anybody, and all the critics hailing all wrting on his own level of understanding as great, with books and poets of the year, of the month, of the hour, of the minute, we can get a little confused.  Be calm.  The real poet, the real novelist, will emerge out of the uproar.  He will be here, he is even now on his way.”

From: “Writing Cannot Be Taught…” (1954 )  in Porter: Collected Stories and Other Writings

As an author I write about most anything fiction or fact. I write because it is in me to do so. It is like my breath. I really have no preference on genres or styles that others may wish me to write, and mostly write whatever comes to mind on a whim, whatever fills my thoughts and heart. Some compositions on here may offend people, but are just posted for people to have something to read that may entertain a thought or two, a smile or two or reach out of myself to someone who may or may not give a damn.

Categories: Literature
  1. August 22, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Why are you considering this?

    • August 22, 2010 at 10:35 pm

      I had been mulling it over here and there. This was a project begun in my last semester of college and it has failed to do what I hoped it would and reach anyone on that campus,…If you read the “About” section you will see why it was created…well,… partially. It really started the day I realized that the person I saw at the college every day I was there no longer wanted anything to do with me and it made me feel terrible and question every direction in which I had seen light, when I was with him. It was as if he were my muse…inspiration to speak out and be heard and be ME and be loved as myself…to really be seen and loved. When i saw that I wasn’t, I figured I knew that there were certainly others out there who had thought of these things and might need encouragement, or need a muse and I wanted to start with the people around me at the college. I wanted to give each one a common ground to express views and feelings on all different subjects. It has been very disheartening to find that not a single soul has any thought on anything I have written on, and especially unsettling for a few in particular ( each their own different reasons to have an interest, former english teachers and government teachers and my most favored person in all the world, as well)So,…I am thinking of closing it out to the college, since it is not being used by any of the students or faculty and keeping open just for myself and those who find interest already on here. I also thought of moving it under a new name, but have decided against that because it is too tedious..blech!…to cut copy and paste all of this on a new site? Geez!
      But those were my thoughts on it.

  2. August 24, 2010 at 3:10 am

    What am I? Chopped potatoes? lol
    I come here and read and I love that! You better not stop lady! lol

  3. August 26, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    NOOOOOOO!!!! YOU are NOT “chopped potatoes! I was thinking of closing it to the college and keeping it under a new name for myself, because no one at the college has used it, read it,…. you know? I love that you come here and read and love it! I do! I would only keep it for the ones who actually do stop and read the posts.

  4. August 26, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    LOL Well, that’s a relief! 🙂

    I do enjoy it and it would be a shame if you stopped. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

